Iain McKenzie new MP for Inverclyde

01 July 2011

Iain McKenzie of the Labour Party has become Member of Parliament for Inverclyde after winning the by-election held in that Constituency on 30 June 2011.

Inverclyde was the fifth by-election held since the 2010 General Election. There were 5 candidates on the ballot paper.

The by-election was called after the death of David Cairns.

By-election result

Iain McKenzie, Scottish Labour Party 15,118
Anne McLaughlin, Scottish National Party 9,280
David Alexander, Scottish Conservative and Unionist Party 2,784
Sophie Bridger, Scottish Liberal Democrats 627
Mitch Sorbie, UK Independence Party 288

Image: PA

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Elections, Parliament, Members of Parliament, Commons news, By-elections

Share this page