New Members of the Lords announced

19 November 2010

Downing Street has published the list of new life Peers who are to join the House of Lords. New members of the House of Lords Appointments Commission were also announced.

The new Members will join the House of Lords at a later date; their titles will also be decided at a later date.


Tariq Ahmad, Sir Robert Balchin, Elizabeth Berridge, Sir Michael Bishop, Alistair Cooke, Sir Patrick Cormack,  Michael Dobbs, Robert Edmiston, Sir Reg Empey, Andrew Feldman, Julian Fellowes, Stanley Fink, Howard Flight, David Gold, Michael Grade, Rachael Heyhoe-Flint, Anne Jenkin, Sir Michael Lord, Rt Hon David Maclean, George Magan, Sir Bernard Ribeiro, Fiona Shackleton, Richard Spring, Tina Stowell, Nicholas True, Patience Wheatcroft and Gordon Wasserman.

Liberal Democrats

Dr Sarah (Sal) Brinton, Dee Doocey, Qurban Hussain, Judith Jolly, Susan Kramer, Raj Loomba, Jonathan Marks, Monroe Palmer, Jenny Randerson, John Sharkey, Nicol Stephen, Ben Stoneham, Mike Storey, Paul Strasburger and Claire Tyler.


Dame Joan Bakewell, Ray Collins, Maurice Glasman, Jonathan Kestenbaum, Oona King,Ruth Lister, Eluned Morgan, Sir Gulam Noon, Stewart Wood and Bryony Worthington.

Plaid Cymru

Rt Hon Dafydd Wigley

The new members of the House of Lords Appointments Commission are The Rt Hon Lord Howard of Lympne, Lord Hart of Chilton and Baroness Scott of Needham Market.

Further information

The House of Lords Appointments Commission is an independent, non-statutory advisory body set up to vet nominations for peerages and to make recommendations for non-party-political peerages.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, European Union, Common Agricultural Policy, House of Lords news, Members of the Lords, Lords news, Parliamentary business

Share this page