Six Commons committees to hold public evidence sessions

26 July 2010

The Education, Public Accounts, Political and Constitutional Reform, Public Administration, Home Affairs and Science and Technology committees will hold public evidence sessions on 27 July.

Education Committee

The Education Committee will take evidence on Building Schools for the Future and future capital spending from;

  • Tim Byles CBE, Chief Executive, Partnerships for Schools
  • Rt Hon Ed Balls MP (at 10:15am)

at 9:30 am in committee room 8 of the House of Commons

Public Accounts Committee

The Public Accounts Committee will take evidence on The Customer First Programme: Delivery of student finance from;

  • Simon Fraser CMG, Permanent Secretary, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
  • Michael Hipkins, Director, Financial Support for Learners, Department for Business, Innovation and Skills
  • Ed Lester, Interim Chief Executive, Student Loans Company

at 9:30am in committee room 15 of the House of Commons

Political and Constitutional Reform

The Political and Constitutional Reform Committee will take evidence on boundary reform proposals and the alternatinve vote (AV) referendum from;

  • Professor Ron Johnston, Bristol University
  • Robin Gray, former Boundary Commissioner for England

at 10am and;

  • Professor Patrick Dunleavy, London School of Economics and Political Science
  • Professor Justin Fisher, Brunel University

at 11am in committee room 16 of the Hosue of Commons

Public Administration Committee

The Public Administrtion Committee will take evidence on the Civil Service Compensation Scheme and the Work of the Cabinet Office from;

  • Jonathan Baume, General Secretary, First Division Association (FDA)
  • Paul Noon, General Secretary, Prospect
  • Hugh Lanning, Deputy General Secretary, Public and Commercial Services Union (PCS)

at 10:15am and;

  • Rt Hon Francis Maude MP, Minister for the Cabinet Office and Paymaster General
  • Rt Hon Oliver Letwin MP, Minister of State, Cabinet Office

at 10:45am in The Grimmond Room, Portcullis House

Home Affairs Committee

The Home Affairs Committee will take evidence on Policing from;

  • Rt Hon Nick Herbert MP, Minister for Police, Home Office

at 11am and;

  • Sir Paul Stephenson QPM, Metropolitan Police Commissioner

at 11:45am and;

  •  Sir Hugh Orde OBE QPM, President, Association of Chief Police Officers

at 12:15pm in The Wilson Room, Portcullis House

Science and Technology Committee

The Science and Technology Committee will take evidence on Setting the scene from;

  • Lord Rees of Ludlow, OM FRS, President of the Royal Society

at 2:10pm in the Thatcher Room, Portcullis House

Further Information

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Crime, civil law, justice and rights, Parliament, government and politics, Central government, Emergency services, Education, Parliament, Elections, Electoral systems, House of Commons news, Commons news, Committee news, Science and technology, Schools, Students, Police, Civil Service, Constitution

Share this page