New Members of the Lords announced

28 May 2010

Downing Street has published the list of 56 new life Peers who are to join the House of Lords

The new Members will join the House of Lords at a later date; their titles will also be decided at a later date.

The list includes Nat Wei whose appointment as adviser on the Government's 'Big Society' programme was announced on 18 May.

  • Conservatives:

Guy Black, Timothy Boswell, Angela Browning, Dame Margaret Eaton, Edward Faulks, QC, John Gardiner, John Selwyn Gummer, Michael Howard, QC, John Maples, Helen Newlove, Dolar Popat, Shireen Ritchie, Sir Michael Spicer, Deborah Stedman-Scott, Nat Wei, Simon Wolfson

  • Liberal Democrats:

Richard Allan, Floella Benjamin, Mike German, Meral Hussein Ece, Sir Kenneth Macdonald, QC, Kathryn Jane Parminter, Matthew Taylor, John Shipley, Phil Willis

  • Labour:

Hilary Armstrong, Sir Jeremy Beecham, Paul Boateng, Des Browne, Quentin Davies, Rita Donaghy, Jeannie Drake, Dianne Hayter, Anna Healy, Beverley Hughes, John Hutton, Roy Kennedy, Jim Knight, Helen Liddell, Roger Liddle, Tommy McAvoy, Jack McConnell, John McFall, John Stephen Monks, Sue Nye, John Prescott, John Reid, Maeve Sherlock, Angela Smith, Wilf Stevenson, Don Touhig, Margaret Wheeler, Michael Williams, Michael Wills

  • DUP:

Ian Paisley

  • Crossbenchers:

Sir Ian Blair

External links

Further information

The House of Lords Appointments Commission is an independent, non-statutory advisory body set up to vet nominations for peerages and to make recommendations for non-party-political peerages.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Members of the Lords, Lords news, Parliamentary business

Share this page