John Bercow re-elected Commons Speaker

18 May 2010

John Bercow, Member of Parliament for Buckingham, has been re-elected as Speaker of the House of Commons.

Mr Bercow, who was Speaker in the previous Parliament, was willing to be chosen as Speaker and made a short speech to the House.

Another MP – Sir Malcolm Rifkind - was called to move a motion that Mr Bercow take the chair as Speaker-elect.

The Father of the House - Sir Peter Tapsell, the backbench MP with the longest continuous Commons service – who presided over the election, then put the motion to the Commons and it was agreed.

Mr Bercow took the chair as Speaker-elect, followed by speeches of congratulation from the party leaders.

The Commons will now go to the Lords tomorrow (19 May) for the Royal Approbation of the Speaker, and return for the start of the MPs' swearing-in.

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Members of Parliament, Speaker news, Commons news

Share this page