Parliamentary session ends Thursday 8 April

08 April 2010

The Parliamentary session has now ended with what is called 'prorogation'.

It is the formal name given to the period between the end of a session of Parliament and the State Opening of Parliament that begins the next session. A parliamentary session may also be prorogued when Parliament is dissolved and a general election called - as on this occasion.

Announcement made in Lords and Commons

It takes the form of an announcement, on behalf of the Queen, read in the House of Lords. The same announcement is then read out by the Speaker in the Commons. Following this both Houses are officially prorogued and will not meet again until the State Opening of Parliament.

The announcement sets out the major Bills which have been passed during that session and also describes other measures which have been taken by the Government.

Completed Bills

The following Bills completed their passage through the Commons before prorogation took place:

Sustainable Communities Act 2007 (Amendment) Bill

Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill

Children, Schools and Families Bill

Energy Bill

Financial Services Bill

Flood and Water Management Bill

Next steps

The dissolution of Parliament is due to take place on Monday 12 April. A proclamation is made announcing the date of Parliament's return following the general election, and the date of the Queen's Speech at State Opening.

Writs are then issued for elections in the UK's 650 constituencies.

The General Election will be held on Thursday 6 May and Parliament will return on Tuesday 18 May.

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Elections, Parliament, Parliamentary business, Bill news, General election, Communities and families, Crime, civil law, justice and rights, Economy and finance, Education, Energy and environment

Share this page