Speaker’s Advisory Council on Public Engagement meets

25 March 2010

The Speaker's Advisory Council on Public Engagement is now fully established having held an initial meeting last week.

This voluntary body is chaired by Andy Street, Managing Director of John Lewis. The other members are:

  • Sir Keith Ajegbo
  • Richard Allan
  • Michele Carlisle
  • Paul Clarke
  • Professor Jonathan Drori
  • Nicky Edwards
  • Tiffany St James
  • Simon Walker
  • Neil Sherlock

What is the Speaker's Advisory Council on Public Engagement?

The Council consists of skilled external volunteers who would provide advice on various aspects of the House’s outreach efforts including working with schools, promoting Parliament within the universities, tours of the House of Commons, dealing with organisations representing civic society in Westminster and beyond and the website.
It will not deal with matters that belong to the Independent Parliamentary Standards Authority.
Following the initial meeting held last week, the Council will meet again in May.
Image: Stefan Rousseau / PA

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Speaker news, Parliamentary Outreach

Share this page