New Members of the Lords announced

05 February 2010

The independent House of Lords Appointments Commission announced on 5 February that four non-party political Peers will join the House of Lords and sit as Crossbench Members of the House.

New Members who will join the House of Lords

  • Sir Michael Bichard, Chair of the Design Council and Director of the Institute for Government
  • Dame Tanni Grey-Thompson, Paralympian
  • Tony Hall, Chief Executive of the Royal Opera House and Chair of the Cultural Olympiad, and
  • Professor Ajay Kakkar, Surgeon and Medical Researcher with a special interest in thrombosis

The new Members will join the House of Lords at a later date, and their titles will also be decided at a later date.

Further information

The House of Lords Appointments Commission is an independent, non-statutory advisory body set up by the Prime Minister to make recommendations for non-party-political peerages.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Members of the Lords, Lords news, Parliamentary business

Share this page