South East round-up: 29 January 2010

29 January 2010

Parliamentary business relating to the South East region for the week ending 29 January 2010.

Written questions

In addition to oral questions, MPs and Peers can ask government ministers questions for written answer. These are often used to obtain detailed information about policies and statistics on the activities of government departments.


The Bournemouth Borough Council Bill makes provisions relating to street trading and consumer protection in the area.

South East Select Committee

The South East Committee covers the following local government areas: Bracknell Forest, Brighton & Hove, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hampshire, Isle of Wight, Kent, Medway, Milton Keynes, Newbury, Oxfordshire, Portsmouth, Reading, Slough, Southampton, Surrey, West Sussex, Windsor & Maidenhead and Wokingham.

The remit of the Committee is to examine regional strategies and the work of regional bodies.

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, South East

Share this page