East of England round-up: 29 January 2010

29 January 2010

Parliamentary business relating to the East of England region for the week ending 29 January 2010.

Written questions

In addition to oral questions, MPs and Peers can ask government ministers questions for written answer. These are often used to obtain detailed information about policies and statistics on the activities of government departments.

Oral questions

Question Time in the Commons takes place for an hour Monday to Thursday after prayers. Each government department answers questions according to a rota called the Order of Oral Questions. The questions asked must relate to the responsibilities of the government department concerned.

East of England Select Committee

The East of England Committee covers the following local government areas: Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Luton, Norfolk, Peterborough, Southend on Sea, Suffolk and Thurrock.

The remit of the Committee is to examine regional strategies and the work of regional bodies. The Committee previously conducted an inquiry into impact of the Government's response to the global economic downturn in the East of England region.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, East of England

Share this page