East of England round-up: 15 January 2010

15 January 2010

Parliamentary business relating to the East of England region for the week ending 15 January 2010.

Written questions

In addition to oral questions, MPs and Peers can ask government ministers questions for written answer. These are often used to obtain detailed information about policies and statistics on the activities of government departments.

Ministerial statements

Government ministers can make written statements to Parliament as well as oral statements. Oral statements often address major incidents, policies and actions. Written ministerial statements are normally used to put the day-to-day business of government on the official record and in the public domain.

East of England Select Committee

The East of England Committee covers the following local government areas: Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Essex, Hertfordshire, Luton, Norfolk, Peterborough, Southend on Sea, Suffolk and Thurrock.

The remit of the Committee is to examine regional strategies and the work of regional bodies. The Committee previously conducted an inquiry into impact of the Government's response to the global economic downturn in the East of England region.

Image: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, East of England

Share this page