Result of the ballot for Private Members’ Bills

26 November 2009

Brian Iddon, Labour MP for Bolton South East, has topped the annual MPs' ballot for Private Members' Bills. Fellow Labour MPs David Chaytor, Andrew Gwynne and Albert Owen were second, third and fourth

The top ten MPs in the ballot are:

  • Brian Iddon, Lab
  • David Chaytor, Labour
  • Andrew Gwynne, Labour
  • Albert Owen, Labour
  • Julie Morgan Labour
  • Anthony Steen, Conservative
  • Alistair Burt, Conservative
  • John Smith, Labour
  • Chris Grayling, Conservative
  • Nigel Dodds, DUP

This Parliamentary session will be cut short by the general election next year and Harriet Harman, Leader of the Commons, told MPs today that the House would have to reduce time available for Private Members' Bills as a "question of proportionality".

The ballot is held every year, on the second Thursday of the parliamentary session. Time for Private Members' Bills is limited and the ballot allows for a degree of prioritising. Several Fridays are set aside for debates.

Imasge: Parliamentary copyright

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Members of Parliament, Parliamentary procedure, Commons news, Bill news

Share this page