Committee hears from former human rights commissioners

20 October 2009

The Joint Committee on Human Rights takes evidence from four former Commissioners from the Equality and Human Rights Commission (EHRC) at 1.45 pm

Giving evidence to the Joint Committee will be:

  • Professor Kay Hampton
  • Professor Francesa Klug
  • Sir Bert Massie
  • Ben Summerskill

This evidence session takes place ahead of the Committee's annual meeting with the chairman of the EHRC on 10 November, when current Chairman Trevor Phillips will discuss the work of the Commission during the previous year.

The Joint Committee on Human Rights consists of twelve members appointed from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords. The Committee is charged with considering human rights issues in the UK. The Committee undertakes thematic inquiries on human rights issues and reports its findings and recommendations to the House.

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Crime, civil law, justice and rights, Equality, Human rights, Commons news, Lords news, Committee news

Share this page