John Bercow elected Speaker of the Commons

John Bercow elected Speaker of the Commons
23 June 2009

John Bercow, Conservative MP for Buckingham, has been elected 157th Speaker of the House of Commons. Of the 593 ballots cast, 322 were for Mr Bercow. Sir George Young MP came second with 271 votes.

He was Shadow Secretary of State for International Development 2003-04. He has been a member of the International Development Select Committee since November 2004. He is also a member of the Speaker's Conference on representation in Parliament.

What happened next?

The question was put before the House proposing the successful candidate as Speaker.

With that question agreed, the Member took the Chair as Speaker-elect. Traditionally the new Speaker is pulled 'reluctantly' to the Chair.

Black Rod summoned MPs and the Speaker-elect to the House of Lords to hear the Royal Approbation (confirmation of the choice of Speaker).

Known as Royal Approbation, the Lords Commissioners (Baroness Royall of Blaisdon, Lord Strathclyde, Lord McNally, Baroness D’Souza and the Lord Chancellor, Jack Straw MP) assembled in the House of Lords and confirmed the Speaker-elect as Speaker of the House of Commons.

Image: PA

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Commons news, Speaker news, Commons news, Parliamentary business

Share this page