Commons debates Intelligence and Security Committee report

08 May 2009

Dr. Kim Howells MP, Chairman of the Intelligence and Security Committee, opened the debate in the Commons on the Committee's 2007-2008 annual report.

The Intelligence and Security Committee, a non-parliamentary Committee that consists of nine members drawn from both the House of Commons and the House of Lords and appointed by the Prime Minister, was established by the Intelligence Services Act 1994 to examine the policy, administration and expenditure of the Security Service, Secret Intelligence Service, and the Government Communications Headquarters.

The Committee has developed its oversight remit, with the Government's agreement, to include examination of the work of the Joint Intelligence Committee and the Intelligence and Security Secretariat, which includes the Assessments Staff in the Cabinet Office. The Committee also takes evidence from the Defence Intelligence Staff, part of the Ministry of Defence, which assists the Committee in respect of work within the Committee's remit.

Image: PA Photos

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, Commons news, Defence

Share this page