New Law Lords announced

08 April 2009

Lord Justice Lawrence Collins and Sir Brian Kerr will be given life peerages to enable them to hear cases in the House of Lords as Law Lords.

Lord Justice Lawrence Collins will replace Lord Hoffmann, who retires on 20 April 2009, and Sir Brian Kerr will succeed Lord Carswell, who retires on 28 June 2009.

External links

The House of Lords is the UK's highest Court of Appeal. A group of Members called Law Lords, who are qualified judges, make case judgments. They also hear and determine appeals. Their decision is final in civil matters for all UK courts and in England, Wales and Northern Ireland for criminal cases.

The Law Lords will become Justices of the Supreme Court of the UK when the Supreme Court opens on 1 October 2009.

Image: iStockphoto

More news on: Parliament, government and politics, Parliament, House of Lords news, Members of the Lords, Lords news

Share this page