Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lords Communications Committee to quiz tech giants on Digital Markets Bill

Thursday 15 June 2023

The House of Lords Communications and Digital Committee will next week quiz tech giants Meta, Google, Apple, Amazon and Microsoft on the potential impact of the Digital Markets, Consumer and Competition Bill.

The Committee will also hear evidence from Which?, The News Media Association, The Kelkoo Group and Gener8.

The sessions will explore whether the Bill will be sufficient to open up digital markets to new entrants, how much opportunity there should be to challenge regulatory decisions via a judicial review, and how the proposals compare with other regimes across the world.

The evidence sessions will start at 2:30pm on Tuesday 20 June in Committee Room 4 of the House of Lords. Giving evidence will be:  


  • Richard Stables, Chief Executive Officer at Kelkoo Group
  • Owen Meredith, Chief Executive Officer at News Media Association
  • Rocio Concha, Director of Policy and Advocacy and Chief Economist at Which?
  • Tom Fish, Head of Public Policy and Research at Gener8


  • Kyle Andeer, Vice President, Products & Regulatory Law at Apple Legal
  • Tom Morrison-Bell, Government Affairs and Public Policy Manager at Google
  • Matt Foster, UK Policy Manager at Meta
  • Monica Arino, Director for Public Policy at Amazon
  • Chloe MacEwen, Senior Director UK Government Affairs at Microsoft

The session will be available to watch live and on demand at

To attend the session in person please enter Parliament via the Cromwell Green entrance and allow time to pass through security.

Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business.

Subscribe now (external site)

Latest tweets