Skip to main content

Territorial Ministers to give evidence on the Union

Monday 14 June 2021

The House of Lords Common Frameworks Scrutiny Committee will tomorrow question ministers from Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland territorial offices, on their role in the Union, and in terms of facilitating intergovernmental relations.

Giving evidence will be: 

  • David Davies MP, Under-Secretary of State for Wales 
  • Iain Stewart MP, Under-Secretary of State for Scotland  
  • Robin Walker MP, Minister of State at the Northern Ireland Office 

Questions the Committee is likely to ask include:  

  • What value do the territorial offices bring in terms of ensuring a positive and productive Union? 
  • How do the views of your respective administration inform your input into UK Government decision-making? 
  • How do you coordinate with the Cabinet Office as the department responsible for the constitution and devolution? 
  • Have the territorial offices been consulted at all on the development of Common Frameworks; and if so, what was your input? 
  • What role does the Northern Ireland Office play in addressing issues arising out of the implementation of the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland? 

The session will take place virtually on Tuesday 15 June at 10.30am and can be followed on Parliament TV

Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business.

Subscribe now

Latest tweets