Skip to main content

Regional and local government to give evidence to Youth Unemployment Committee

Monday 7 June 2021

On Tuesday 8 June 2021 the House of Lords Youth Unemployment Committee will hold two evidence sessions which will be held remotely and streamed on Parliament TV.

At 10.15am the committee will hear from:

  • Steve Rotheram – Metro Mayor, Liverpool City Region Combined Authority.

At 11.15am the committee will hear from:

  • Michelle Rainbow – Skills Director, North East Local Enterprise Partnership (LEP)
  • Meredith Teasdale – Strategic Director - Together for Families, Cornwall Council.

The topics the committee is likely to cover include:

  • The factors such as job shortages, education and training on offer, access to careers advice and job search support, which drive high levels of youth unemployment in certain regions.
  • The case for devolving more powers to local areas to tackle the problem of youth unemployment.
  • How young people from minority ethnic backgrounds can effectively be reached by youth employment, education and skills policy in hard to reach areas.
  • How careers education can be delivered at both primary and secondary school level.
  • How the development of Local Skills Improvement Plans will work in practice.
  • How young people from low-income backgrounds can be helped to overcome challenges such as accessing travel to get to work, work experience placements and/or education.

More on this inquiry

The Youth Unemployment Committee is considering what measures should be taken to protect and create jobs for young people and will be proposing long-term and durable solutions to the problem of youth unemployment.

It will also examine how the labour market for young people may change due to current events such as COVID-19, Brexit, and technological developments in the longer term. It intends to report before the end of November 2021.

Recently the committee took evidence from: Phil Avery, Director of Education, Bohunt Multi-Academy Trust; Tom Richmond, Founder and Director, EDSK; Andy Sprakes, Co-founder and Chief Academic Officer, XP School; Neil Bates, Managing Director, Seetec Outsource Training Ltd; Chairman, Edge Foundation; Sally Dicketts, Chief Executive, Activate Learning; and David Hughes, Chief Executive, Association of Colleges. You can watch the sessions back on Parliament TV.

The committee’s work can be followed on its website and via Twitter.

Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business

Latest tweets