Skip to main content

Lords Committee to scrutinise post-Brexit common frameworks

Friday 2 October 2020

A new House of Lords select committee has been set up to scrutinise common frameworks in the United Kingdom, following its exit from the European Union.

The Common Frameworks Scrutiny Committee will scrutinise new agreements between the UK and devolved governments on how they will coordinate in a range of policy areas after Brexit. It is the first committee in Parliament dedicated to examining common frameworks and to building relationships with the devolved legislatures as they work together to secure regulatory consistency across the four nations.

The Committee has now begun its work and is expected to sit for the duration of the current parliamentary session.

Topics that the Committee will be considering include:

  • Food safety
  • Hazardous substances in the planning system
  • Nutrition standards and labelling
  • The UK’s Emissions Trading System
  • The safe management of radioactive substances

Baroness Andrews, Chair of the Common Frameworks Scrutiny Committee, said:

“As a consequence of the UK leaving the EU, powers previously exercised at an EU level that intersect with devolved competence flow back directly to Edinburgh, Cardiff and Belfast.

“It is therefore crucial to ensure that after the end of the transition period on 31 December 2020, we have common frameworks in place for the UK and devolved governments that guarantee appropriate common standards and policies across the UK internal market. These common frameworks must respect the competences of the Devolved Administrations and be subject to effective parliamentary scrutiny.

“The membership of the Common Frameworks Scrutiny Committee includes peers with wide experience from all four nations. We will work to ensure that the common frameworks fulfil all the expectations for cooperation across a range of policy areas.”

Members of the Committee are:

Baroness Andrews (chair)
Lord Bruce of Bennachie
Lord Caine
Baroness Crawley
Lord Foulkes of Cumnock
Lord Garnier
Lord Hope of Craighead
Lord McIness of Kllwinning
Lord Murphy of Torfaen
Baroness Randerson
Baroness Redfern
Lord Thomas of Cwmgiedd
Baroness Ritchie of Downpatrick

Latest tweets


Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business