Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lords Committee on long-term sustainability of the NHS enters final month of evidence

The House of Lords Committee on the Long-Term Sustainability of the NHS enters its final month of oral evidence sessions in December before it drafts its report ahead of expected publication in late March 2017.

The Committee's final month of evidence sessions is a busy one, seeing it take evidence from 24 witnesses across three days.

Themes for the sessions will include a perceived lack of long-term planning for health and social care services over the next 10-15 years, possible alternative funding models and challenges of ensuring the NHS has the appropriate number of well trained staff to meet future health and social care needs.

Giving evidence to the Committee throughout December will be:

Tuesday 6 December

10:00 - Committee Room 1, House of Lords

  • Chris Wormald, Permanent Secretary, Department of Health
  • Prof Chris Whitty, Chief Scientific Adviser, Department of Health

11:00 - Committee Room 1, House of Lords

  • Jim Mackey, Chief Executive, NHS Improvement
  • Professor Sir Mike Richards, Chief Inspector of Hospitals, CQC
  • Professor Terence Stephenson, Chair, GMC
  • Jackie Smith, Chief Executive, NMC

12:00 - Committee Room 1, House of Lords

  • Baroness Cavendish of Little Venice
  • Lord Darzi of Denham

16:00 – Committee Room 2, House of Lords

  • Robert Chote, Chairman, OBR

Tuesday 13 December – all Committee Room 1, House of Lords

  • Simon Stevens, Chief Executive, NHS England


  • Dr Sarah Wollaston MP, Chair, House of Commons Health Select Committee


  • Jon Ashworth MP, Shadow Secretary of State for Health, Labour
  • Rt Hon Norman Lamb MP, Spokesperson for Health, Liberal Democrats
  • Dr Philippa Whitford MP, Shadow Westminster Group Leader (Health), SNP


  • Rt Hon Jeremy Hunt MP, Secretary of State for Health, UK Government

Tuesday 20 December – all Committee Room 1, House of Lords

  • Mark Britnell, KPMG


  • Professor Sir Michael Marmot, Professor of Epidemiology and Public Health, UCL
  • Professor Sir Mark Walport, Government Chief Scientific Adviser (GCSA) and Head of the Government Office for Science
  • Dame Sally Davies, Chief Medical Officer, Department of Health


  • Nicholas Timmins, Public policy commentator, The King's Fund, Institute for Government, King's College London and London School of Economics and former public policy editor at the Financial Times
  • Denis Campbell, Health Policy Editor, The Observer/The Guardian
  • Prof Richard Horton, Editor-in-Chief, The Lancet
  • John McDermott, Public Policy Editor, The Economist
  • Alastair McLellan, Editor, Health Service Journal

Latest tweets


Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business.

Subscribe now (external site)