Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

Lords Secondary Legislation Committee to quiz Oliver Letwin on Government consultations

The House of Lords Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee will next week question Oliver Letwin MP, Minister for Government Policy and Chancellor of the Duchy of Lancaster, on Government consultation practice.

In its scrutiny of statutory instruments, the Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee takes a close interest in any prior consultation carried out by Government.  In 2012, the Committee carried out an inquiry into the new Consultation Principles which the coalition Government adopted in July of that year.  

In 2014, it conducted a follow-up inquiry into the application of the Principles in practice.  It published its inquiry report in January 2015, concluding that the Cabinet Office should do more to monitor consultation across Government and to remedy bad practice. The Government have not yet provided a full response to that report. 

Mr Letwin is the Government Minister responsible for consultation policy. The Committee has invited Mr Letwin to give evidence about the latest state of play with the revision of the Principles. 

The evidence session with Mr Letwin will be held at 4pm on Tuesday 19 January in Committee Room 3A of the House of Lords. 

Latest tweets


Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business.

Subscribe now (external site)