Skip to main content

Dissolution of Parliament

The dissolution of Parliament took place on Thursday 30 May 2024. All business in the House of Commons and House of Lords has come to an end. There are currently no MPs and every seat in the Commons is vacant until after the general election on 4 July 2024.

Find out more about:

"Strathclyde Review" - Lords Committee to hear from Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, Lord Cunningham, Lord Butler of Brockwell and Clerk of the Parliaments

The Lords Secondary Legislation Scrutiny Committee (SLSC) continues its inquiry into Lord Strathclyde's review and its implications for the effective scrutiny of secondary legislation this week with four evidence sessions over two days.

On Tuesday 23 February, the Committee will take oral evidence from:


  • Lord Hunt of Kings Heath, Shadow Deputy Leader of the House of Lords (Lord Hunt was the first Chairman of the Lords Committee on the Merits of Statutory Instruments, from 2003 to 2005);


  • Lord Cunningham of Felling, former Chairman of the 2006 Joint Committee on Conventions.

On Thursday 25 February, the Committee will take oral evidence from:


  • Lord Butler of Brockwell (Lord Butler was Secretary of the Cabinet and Head of the Civil Service from 1988 to 1998)


  • Mr David Beamish, Clerk of the Parliaments.

The evidence sessions will be held in Committee Room 3 of the House of Lords.

Latest tweets


Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business.

Subscribe now (external site)