Skip to main content

Committee to hear from Government Ministers on Deregulation Bill

The Joint Committee on the Draft Deregulation Bill will question Government Ministers on Wednesday 9 November, as part of its ongoing inquiry into the Draft Bill.

The evidence sessions will begin at 4.10pm, with the Committee questioning Lord Norton of Louth on, among other issues, whether he believes that the Bill amounts to a significant erosion of the role of Parliament through the creation of a proposed ministerial order-making power to disapply legislation no longer of practical use.

Following on, at 4.30pm, the Committee will quiz Government Ministers: 

  • Oliver Letwin, Minister for Government Policy; 
  • Michael Fallon, Minister for Business & Enterprise and Minister for Energy; and
  •  Ken Clarke, Minister without Portfolio.

The Committee will question the ministers on issues including the implication of a proposed growth duty on non-economic regulators, the Government's de-regulatory agenda generally  and why the “no longer of practical use” order-making power is necessary.

The evidence sessions will start at 4:10pm on Wednesday 6 November in Committee Room 4A of the House of Lords.

The session will be webcast at and is also open to the public. Journalists wishing to attend should go to Parliament's Cromwell Green Entrance and should allow time for security screening.

Latest tweets


Subscribe to Lords newsletter

Sign up for the House of Lords newsletter for the latest news, debates and business