Skip to main content

Conserving cultural heritage for future generations

The Lords Science and Technology Committee will tomorrow hear from representatives of some of the UK's leading heritage organisations as part of their short, follow-up inquiry into science and heritage.

The Committee made a number of recommendations in their original report, published in 2006, and are considering developments in the heritage science field since then.

At 10.40am, the Committee will hear from:

• Dr Edward Impey, Director, Heritage Protection and Planning, English Heritage;

• Sarah Staniforth, Historic Properties Director, National Trust; and

• Dr Michael Dixon, Director, Natural History Museum and Chairman of the DCMS Science and Research Advisory Committee.

Following this, at 11.35am, the Committee will question:

• Nancy Bell, The National Archives;

• Alison Richmond, Chief Executive at the Institute for Conservation; and

• Dr David Saunders, Keeper at the Department of Conservation and Scientific Research, British Museum.

Witnesses will be questioned on issues including:

• whether the Government, through the Department for Culture, Media and Sport (DCMS), has successfully championed heritage science;

• the impact of the National Heritage Science Strategy and the Science and Heritage Programme(funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council );

• what understanding and awareness the public has of heritage science and conservation issues, and how it could be further developed;

• the closure of the Museums, Libraries and Archives Council; • if a national digitisation strategy is necessary; and

• whether senior heritage science posts are being filled, and what opportunities exist for young researchers.

The evidence sessions will take place from 10:40am on Tuesday 6 March in Committee Room 4 of the House of Lords.

The evidence session is open to media and the public. Please allow time for security screening.

The evidence session will also be broadcast live on Parliament TV