Skip to main content

Working with the Speaker

Meet the people who support The Speaker and find out what they do.

Biographies of Deputy Speakers

Dame Eleanor Laing, Dame Rosie Winterton, and Nigel Evans

Office and role of the Deputy Speaker

Three Deputy Speakers are elected by the House of Commons

Speaker's chaplain

Responsible for the pastoral care of both members and staff

Related information

Topics: Speaker

Recent parliamentary material on the Speaker of the House of Commons. This includes briefing papers produced by the parliamentary research services, and the latest Early Day Motions put down by MPs.