Skip to main content

Speaker's Lecture Series: Parliamentarians on Public Policy

A fourth series of Speaker's Lectures entitled Parliamentarians on Public Policy was given by Members of Parliament and Members of the House of Lords with a particular expertise or interest in specific areas of public policy.

The series includes:

  • January – Lord Norton of Louth – Parliament and Political Parties
  • February – Dame Tessa Jowell MP – Parliament and the Press
  • March – John Redwood MP – Parliament and Economic Policy
  • April – Frank Field MP – Parliament and Social Policy
  • May – Sir Malcolm Rifkind MP – Parliament and Foreign Policy and War
  • June – Tristram Hunt MP – Parliament and the Crown
  • June – Lord Heseltine – Parliament and Industrial Policy
  • July – Rt Hon Harriet Harman MP – Parliament and Equality
  • September – Sir Menzies Campbell MP – Parliament and Justice
  • October – David Davis MP – Parliament and Liberty
  • November – Lord Hennessy – Parliament and the State
  • December – Sir Tony Baldry MP – Parliament and the Church

Further information

The Speaker's Lecture Series was launched in January 2011 with the aim to provide a platform which encourages understanding of, and engagement with, the work of Parliament and its Parliamentarians.

The first Lecture Series marked the 100th anniversary of the Parliament Act of 1911 and reflected on great parliamentarians of the 20th century.

The 2011 Lecture Series was subsequently published as a book entitled Eminent Parliamentarians: The Speaker's Lectures and was edited by Lord Norton.

The second Lecture Series was given by Members of Parliament who had previously served in one or more of the Great Offices of State other than that of Prime Minister.

More information about  2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 series: