Skip to main content

Speaker’s Lecture Series 2016: Parliamentarians on Parliamentarians

A sixth series of Speaker's Lectures entitled Parliamentarians on Parliamentarians will be given by Members of the House of Commons and Members of the House of Lords on Parliamentarians throughout history.                               

 2016 Speaker's Lecture Series:

Date Speaker Topic
January 19 Lord Morgan James Callaghan 
February 8   Lord Steel      Jo Grimond
March 7 Tristram Hunt MP Harold Wilson
April 18 Lord Radice     Hugh Gaitskell         
May 10 Lord Lexden Sir Anthony Eden
July 11 Nick Thomas-Symonds MP Michael Foot
October 25 Lord Patten Edward Heath
November 7 Margaret Beckett MP John Smith
November 29 Baroness Williams Charles Kennedy
December 12 Gordon Marsden MP Clement Attlee


 *Dates may be subject to change for all lectures.

Further information

The Speaker's Lecture Series was launched in January 2011 with the aim to provide a platform which encourages understanding of, and engagement with, the work of Parliament and its Parliamentarians.

The first Lecture Series marked the 100th anniversary of the Parliament Act of 1911 and reflected on great parliamentarians of the 20th century.

The 2011 Lecture Series was subsequently published as a book entitled Eminent Parliamentarians: The Speaker's Lectures and was edited by Lord Norton.

More information about 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015 series:

Related information

Topics: Speaker

Recent parliamentary material on the Speaker of the House of Commons. This includes briefing papers produced by the parliamentary research services, and the latest Early Day Motions put down by MPs.

Speaker on Flickr

View our image galleries of The Speaker of the House of Commons

Speaker's role

Find out more about what the Speaker does, and how the Speaker is elected in our About Parliament section.