Welsh Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 2005-06

25 October 2005

Press Notice No 8


The Committee agreed to the following terms of reference for its inquiry into Energy in Wales:

To inquire into:

1. UK Government policy in relation to:

a. the current and future energy needs of Wales; and

b. the current and future provision of energy in Wales.

2.  The relationship between the UK Government and the National Assembly for Wales - including the division of powers - on energy policy

3. The current and future portfolio of energy provision in Wales including:

a. nuclear energy

b. liquefied natural gas

c. clean coal technology

d. wind farms

e. bio mass energy

f. geo-thermal energy

g. tidal and wave energy

h. hydro electric energy.

Interested parties are invited to submit written evidence to the Clerk of the Committee at the address above, to arrive no later than Friday 2 December 2005.  If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word or Rich Text format, either by e mail to welshcom@parliament.uk or on a disk.  If submitted by e mail or e mail attachment, a letter should also be sent validating the e mail.  Further guidance on the submission of evidence can be found at: www.parliament.uk/commons/selcom/witguide.htm

Timetable for the inquiry

It is likely that the Committee will hold oral evidence sessions in December 2005 and the early part of 2006.

Membership of the Committee: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), Mr Stephen Crabb MP, David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Mrs Madeleine Moon MP, Mrs Betty Williams MP, Hywel Williams MP and Mark Williams MP