Welsh Affairs Committee Inquiry Page:Draft Transport (Wales) Bill




Pre-Legislative Scrutiny


The Welsh Affairs Committee of the House of Commons and the Economic Development and Transport Committee of the National Assembly for Wales will be carrying out pre-legislative scrutiny of the draft Transport (Wales) Bill. Subject to the agreement of the House of Commons and the National Assembly for Wales, the Committees intend to hold joint meetings for that scrutiny.

The draft Bill was published by the Wales Office on Thursday 27 May and is available either from the Wales Office website at: http://www.walesoffice.gov.uk/transport_bill.html or from the Stationery Office Bookshops (telephone orders: 0870 600 5522)

Interested parties are invited to submit written evidence to either Committee at the addresses below, to arrive not later than Tuesday 15 June 2004.  If possible, please supply an electronic version in MS Word or Rich Text format. The Wales Office is carrying out a consultation exercise on the draft Bill.  The Committees are happy to receive copies of submissions to this consultation but it would be helpful if you could indicate if your submission is a copy of, or substantially the same as, a submission which has been made to the Government.

Timetable for the inquiry:

It is likely that the Committees will hold oral evidence sessions in June and will report separately on the draft Bill in late July.

Contacts for the inquiries

James Davies,
Clerk to the Welsh Affairs Committee
House of Commons
7 Millbank
London SW1A 0AA
Telephone 0207 219 3264
e-mail: welshcom@parliament.uk

John Grimes, Clerk to the Economic Development and Transport Committee
National Assembly for Wales
Cardiff Bay
Cardiff CF99 1NA
Telephone 029 2089 8225
email: economic.comm@wales.gsi.gov.uk

Membership of the Economic Development and Transport Committee: Chris Gwyther AM (Chair),Alun Cairns AM, Chris Chapman AM, Andrew Davies AM, Janet Davies AM, Lisa Francis AM, Brian Gibbons AM, Elin Jones AM, Lynne Neagle AM, Jenny Randerson AM.

Membership of the Welsh Affairs Committee:  Mr Martyn Jones MP (Chairman), Mr Martin Caton MP, Mr Huw Edwards MP, Dr Hywel Francis MP, Ms Julie Morgan MP, Mr Albert Owen MP, Hywel Williams MP, Mr Mark Prisk MP, Mr Nigel Evans MP, Mrs Betty Williams MP and Mr Roger Williams MP.

The Welsh Affairs Committee's Report on the Draft Transport (Wales) Bill was published on Monday 19 July 2004 (Fourth Report, 2003-04, HC 759)

Embargoed copies will be available for the witnesses and the media at 9.00 am on Monday 19 July 2004 from the Press Gallery in the House of Commons and from No 7 Millbank, London.

The Report will be available on the Internet from approximately midday on the day of publication. http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm/cmwelaf.htm#reports

For further information or if you wish to receive a copy of the Report, please call 020 7219 6189 or e-mail: welshcom@parliament.uk

Copies of the Report will be available from the Vote Office, House of Commons, the Parliamentary Bookshop, Parliament Street and The Stationery Office, Cardiff (tel 02920 395548 or 0345 585463) or refer to the Committee's home page at http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm/cmwelaf.htm#reports

Links to the National Assembly for Wales Economic Development and Transport Committee:

Link to Written Evidence submitted to the Committees under Policy Reviews

Press Notices:

28/05/04    Inquiry Announced
10/05/04    Schedule of Oral Evidence Sessions
12/07/04    Publication of Welsh Affairs Committee Report

Oral Evidence Sessions

Monday 21 June 04, National Assembly for Wales, Committee Rooms 3 & 4  (pdf version)
Network Rail and the Strategic Rail Authority

Association of Train Operating Companies (ATOC) and Arriva Trains Wales

Confederation of Passenger Transport (Wales) and the National Federation of Bus Users (NFBU)

Cardiff International Airport and Air Wales

(The link to the transcript of the evidence session can also be accessed via the link to Agendas and Papers on the National Assembly for Wales Economic Development and Transport Committee Home Page)

Wednesday 23 June 04, House of Commons, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House HC 759-i        
Rail Passengers Committee Cymru and Rail Passengers Council

Traffic Commissioner for the Welsh Area

Thursday 24 June 04, House of Commons, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House        
Professor Stuart Cole, Wales Transport Research Centre, University of Glamorgan (HC 759-ii)

Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA) and West Midlands Local Government Association (HC 759-ii)

Don Touhig MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Wales and Andrew Davies AM, Minister for Economic Development & Transport, Welsh Assembly Government (HC 759-iii)         


(Please contact Sarah Colebrook, Committee Secretary for assistance with links on 0207 219 6189 or colebrooksf@parliament.uk)