Welsh Affairs Committee: Press Notice

Session 2005-06

11 October 2005

Press Notice No 5



The Welsh Affairs Committee today agreed to undertake an inquiry into Energy in Wales.

Wales’ diverse natural environment, and place at the cutting edge of innovative energy production and conservation technologies, secure  its current and future  role at the heart of energy production within the UK.

Primarily, the inquiry will focus on the cost, cleanliness, efficiency and sustainability of existing energy sources  in Wales, including nuclear, wind, gas, oil and coal. It will also consider the merits of newer forms of energy provision, including tidal, solar, bio-mass and geothermal sources.

The inquiry will also consider the UK Government’s  policy, and its approach towards the development of  both traditional and innovative sustainable energy production in Wales.

Detailed terms of reference will be issued shortly, and interested parties are  invited to submit written evidence to the Clerk of the Committee. It is expected that the oral evidence sessions for the inquiry will start in mid-November and continue into next year.

Membership of the Committee: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), Mr Stephen Crabb MP, David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Mrs Madeleine Moon MP, Mrs Betty Williams MP, Mark Williams MP, Hywel Williams MP