Welsh Affairs Committee

Session 2003-04

22 January 2004

Press Notice No 4


The inquiry

Further to the Committee's announcement of this inquiry on 17 July 2003, Press Notice No. 22 (Session 02-03), the Committee is proceeding with oral evidence sessions.


3.00 pm - Representatives from Ford Motor Company and Matsushita Electric Europe (HQ) Ltd (Panasonic)

Followed by - Representatives from Corus

Further evidence sessions will be announced in due course


Terms of reference

The Committee will look at the current state of manufacturing and trade in Wales (both inward and outward investment).

The following are a few of the areas the Committee are particularly interested in:

• The transformation of traditional industrial and rural economies

• UK Government and EU involvement and assistance

• UK Government policy on manufacturing and trade in Wales

• The impact of trade tariffs on Wales

• The maintenance of existing FDI in Wales, and encouragement of new FDI

• The role of R&D in job and wealth creation

• Support for SMEs

• Links between Universities and the productive economy.

The meetings will be open to the public.  They will take place in a Committee Room either in the Palace of Westminster or in Portcullis House or otherwise stated.  Those wishing to attend should confirm the venue by calling the House of Commons Committee Information Line on 020 7219 2033 on the day before the hearing. Information about the inquiry, together with other information about the Committee's work, is available on the Committee's Homepage at: http:// www.parliament.uk/parliamentary_committees/welsh_affairs_committee.cfm

The Committee intends to publish the transcript of these meetings on its Homepage approximately two weeks after each meeting.  For further information about the work of the Committee, please contact Paul Derrett, Assistant to the Committee, on 020 7219 3264 or e-mail welshcom@parliament.uk.

Membership of the Committee: Mr Martyn Jones MP (Chairman),  Mr Martin Caton MP, Mr Huw Edwards MP, Mr Nigel Evans MP, Dr Hywel Francis MP, Ms Julie Morgan MP, Mr Albert Owen MP, Mr Adam Price MP, Mr Mark Prisk MP, Mr Bill Wiggin MP, Mrs Betty Williams MP and Mr Roger Williams MP.