Welsh Affairs Committee Formal Minutes


Meeting as part of an enlarged Culture, Welsh Language and Sport Committee of the National Assembly for Wales, in Cardiff.

Members present:

Mr Martyn Jones, in the Chair

Mr Martin Caton
Hywel Williams
Julie Morgan
Mr Roger Williams
Albert Owen

The Committee deliberated.

Ofcom Review of Broadcasting in Wales: Clive Jones, Chief Executive, ITV News Group; Huw Jones, Chief Executive, S4C; Keith Jones, Head of Welsh Language Programmes, BBC Wales; Roger Lewis, Managing Director, ITV Wales; Menna Richards, Controller, BBC Wales; Elan Closs Stephens CBE, Chair, S4C; Meic Birtwistle, National Union of Journalists; David Donovan, Wales National Official, Broadcasting, Entertainment, Cinematograph and Theatre Union; Professor Tom O’Malley, Department of Theatre, Film and Television Studies, University of Wales, Aberystwyth; Rhys Williams, Broadcasting, Entertainment, Cinematograph and Theatre Union; Sue Balsom, Member of the Content Board, Office of Communications; Rhodri Williams, Director for Wales, Office of Communications; and Tony Stoller, External Relations Director, Office of Communications; were examined.

[Adjourned till Wednesday 23 March at a quarter to Ten 0’clock.