House of Commons Welsh Affairs and National Assembly for Wales Economic Development and Transport Committees

Session 2003 - 04

10 June 2004

Press Notice No 2

Pre-Legislative Scrutiny


Schedule of Oral Evidence Sessions

The Welsh Affairs Committee of the House of Commons and the Economic Development and Transport Committee of the National Assembly for Wales are carrying out a pre-legislative scrutiny of the draft Transport (Wales) Bill. The draft Bill was published by the Wales Office on Thursday 27 May and is available either from the Wales Office website at or from the Stationery Office Bookshops (telephone orders: 0870 600 5522)

Timetable for the inquiry: It is likely that the Committees will report separately on the draft Bill in July.

Timetable of oral evidence:

Monday 21 June 04, National Assembly for Wales, Committee Rooms 3 & 4

12.00 - 1.15 PM - Network Rail and the Strategic Rail Authority

2.15 - 3.15 PM -Association of Train Operating Companies (ATOC) and Arriva Trains Wales

3.15 - 4.15 PM -Confederation of Passenger Transport (Wales) and the National Federation of Bus Users (NFBU)

4.30 - 5.30 PM - Cardiff International Airport and Air Wales

Wednesday 23 June 04, House of Commons, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

3.00 - 4.30 PM - Rail Passengers Committee Cymru and Rail Passengers Council

4.30 - 5.15 PM -Traffic Commissioner for the Welsh Area

Thursday 24 June 04, House of Commons, Boothroyd Room, Portcullis House

10.00 - 11.15 AM - Wales Transport Research Centre, University of Glamorgan

11.15 - 12.45 PM - Welsh Local Government Association (WLGA)

2.00 - 3.30 PM - Don Touhig MP, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State for Wales and Andrew Davies AM, Minister for Economic Development & Transport, Welsh Assembly Government

The meetings will be open to the public.  If you require further information or wish to attend you should confirm by calling; for attendance at Cardiff meetings: Public Information Booking Line on 029 2089 8477, or for attendance at London meetings: Sarah Colebrook, Welsh Affairs Committee on 0207 219 6189.