Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 07-08

Session 2007-08

7 February 2008

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 9


Following the announcement of the Welsh Affairs Committee’s next major inquiry into the provision of cross-border public services for Wales in November 2007, the Committee is issuing a call for written evidence.

The Committee’s inquiry will focus in the first instance on cross-border issues as they affect

• Health and social care;

• Further and higher education; and

• Transport

Subsequently the inquiry may take evidence on other cross-border issues.

The Committee will begin taking evidence in March and will first examine cross-border provision in the field of health and social care. Written evidence on this issue, and the other aspects of the inquiry announced by the Committee, are invited by no later than Thursday 20 March 2008.


The Committee’s inquiry will include an examination of

• the extent to which cross-border public services are currently provided for and accessed by the Welsh population;

• the arrangements currently in place to co-ordinate cross-border public service provision; and

• the funding of cross-border public services.

Dr. Hywel Francis, Chair of the Welsh Affairs Committee, said

“As a consequence of devolution and constitutional change over the last ten years, we have seen policy divergence in the delivery of public services across the UK, often leading to distinct and contradictory provision. Taking account of this, and the impact it has on those seeking access to health, education and transport services, my Committee would welcome written evidence commenting on the way in which public services are co-ordinated and funded across the Welsh-English border. The Committee would also be interested to receive evidence based on international comparisons of cross-border public service provision.”


Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Mark Pritchard MP, David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Albert Owen MP, Mark Williams MP, Hywel Williams MP

 Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: http://www.parliament.uk/welshcom/

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk