Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 07-08

Session 2007-08

16 January 2008

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 8


The Welsh Affairs Committee will travel to the National Assembly for Wales in Cardiff for its first joint meeting with the Assembly’s Committee on non-residential social care, on Thursday 17 January. The Committees will together take evidence from the Deputy Minister for Health and Social Services, Gwenda Thomas AM, as part of their scrutiny of the proposed Legislative Competence Order (LCO) on domiciliary care.

Individual local authorities in Wales currently set charges for non-residential social care, leading to variations in costs for similar services. The proposed new powers aim to enable the Assembly to bring in measures which would ensure a fair and consistent approach to charging through regulation.

The House of Commons Welsh Affairs Committee was invited by the Secretary of State to conduct pre-legislative scrutiny of the proposed Order. Written submissions have been invited and further oral evidence sessions will follow.

The Chairman of the Welsh Affairs Committee, Dr Hywel Francis MP, said:

“This is an excellent opportunity for us to pursue joint working arrangements with the Assembly. On recent occasions our pre-legislative scrutiny of other Orders has been hindered due to timetabling arrangements; however, we are pleased to take forward this chance to forge a closer working relationship with the Assembly on this issue. We hope it paves the way for further such opportunities in the future.”

Dr Hywel Francis MP
Chair, Welsh Affairs Select Committee

Notes for editors:

Please contact media officer Becky Jones for more information on 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488549 or email jonesbl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary/welshcom

Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Albert Owen MP, Mr Mark Pritchard MP, Mr Hywel Williams MP, Mark Williams MP

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk