Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 07-08

Session 2007-08

18 December 2007

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 6

Welsh Affairs Committee publishes its Report on the first proposed Legislative Competence Order in Council (additional learning needs)

Advance notice of publication

The Welsh Affairs Committee’s report on the first of the proposed Legislative Competence Orders in Council to have been referred to it for pre-legislative scrutiny will be published on Friday 21 December at 10.00 am. The proposed Order was proposed by the Welsh Assembly Government with the aim of devolving further law-making powers allowing the Welsh Assembly Government to legislate in relation to provision for those with additional learning needs.

The proposed Order has also been subject to pre-legislative scrutiny by a Committee of the National Assembly for Wales, which published its report on 28 November, and by the House of Lords select committee on the Constitution (which published its response on 23 October).

It is expected that in due course the Welsh Assembly Government will lay the Order in draft form which, subject to approval at further stages both in the Assembly and at Westminster (including approval by both Houses of Parliament) would then take effect. 

This Report is the 2nd Report of the Welsh Affairs Committee of Session 2007-08, HC 44, and will be available on the Committee’s website

(www.parliament.uk/parliamentary/welshcom) from 10.00 a.m. on 21 December.

A further press notice will be issued together with publication of the Report.

Dr Hywel Francis MP
Chair, Welsh Affairs Select Committee

Notes for editors:

Please contact media officer Becky Jones for more information on 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488549 or email jonesbl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary/welshcom

Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Albert Owen MP, Mr Mark Pritchard MP, Mr Hywel Williams MP, Mark Williams MP

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk