Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 07-08

Session 2007-08

26 November 2008

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 37

Digital Inclusion in Wales

The Welsh Affairs Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry to examine:

• The recommendations of the Government’s Digital Inclusion Action Plan, with respect to their application to Wales;

• The role, responsibilities and actions of the Government, the Welsh Assembly Government and local government in promoting digital inclusion, especially with regard to (a) education and young people; (b) access to services; and (c) availability and access for hard-to-reach groups.

• The adequacy of technological infrastructure provision throughout Wales (including Broadband, wireless, mobile, digital TV and digital radio);

• The extent of digital exclusion (through lack of access, skills and/or motivation) throughout Wales compared to the regions of England, other nations in the UK and abroad;

• The ways in which commercial and non-governmental organisations contribute to digital inclusion in Wales, and the opportunities available;

• The risks to citizens (in particular children and young people), businesses and the economy of Wales associated with the use of technology (including internet crime).

Written submissions should arrive by 23 January 2009. Submissions should be emailed to Welshcom@parliament.uk

Notes for editors:

Please contact media officer Becky Jones for more information on 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488549 or email jonesbl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary/welshcom

Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Albert Owen MP, Mr Mark Pritchard MP, Mr Hywel Williams MP, Mark Williams MP

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk