Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 08-09

Session 2008-09

11 February 2009

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 16

Inquiry into the Legal Services Commission Cardiff Office

The Welsh Affairs Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry examining the decision by the Legal Services Commission to reduce its operations in Cardiff.

The inquiry will take evidence from the Ministry of Justice, which sponsors the non-departmental public body, in a session to be held on 24 March 2009.

On 4 November 2008, the Legal Services Commission announced that as part of a refocus of financial resources and reorganisation it was transferring business support from its Cardiff office to other centres in England.

The issue was debated in the House of Commons on 21 January 2009 and the Chairman of the Welsh Affairs Committee indicated the Committee’s close interest in this matter.

The Committee welcomes written submissions on this subject. The deadline for written submissions is Friday 27 February 2009. Submissions should be emailed to welshcom@parliament.uk

Notes for editors:

Please contact media officer Becky Jones for more information on 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488549 or email jonesbl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/welshcom

Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Albert Owen MP, Mr Mark Pritchard MP, Mr Hywel Williams MP, Mark Williams MP

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk

Select committee calendar: www.parliament.uk/what_s_on/hoc_news3.cfm

Watch committees online: www.parliamentlive.tv

Main website: www.parliament.uk