Welsh Affairs Committee Press Notice 08-09

Session 2008-09

5 February 2009

Committee Media Officer: Rebecca Jones
tel: 020 7219 5693

Press Notice No 13

Statement from the Chairman of the Welsh Affairs Committee on Ministry of Justice announcement of new Welsh prison

The Chairman of the Welsh Affairs Committee, Dr Hywel Francis, has welcomed the announcement made today by the Ministry of Justice on the decision to build a new prison in North Wales. Dr Francis says:

“In our report on Welsh prisoners in the prison estate one of the committee’s key recommendations was for new prison places to be provided in North Wales to address the problems of overcrowding and the imprisonment of many Welsh prisoners a long distance from home. I am very pleased that the Government agrees with our recommendation and that the urgent need for prison facilities in North Wales is being tackled.”

According to the Committee's report, the creation of a North Wales prison ‘would enable prisoners to maintain better contact with their families and communities, and assist their resettlement on release. It would improve the efficiency and effectiveness of those agencies working with prisoners, in particular the probation service, by reducing the resources they devote to travelling to prisons outside Wales, and it would create a more cohesive and effective criminal justice system for Wales.’


Notes for editors:

Welsh Affairs Committee report Welsh Prisoners in the Prison Estate published in June 2007 is available here:


Please contact media officer Becky Jones for more information on 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488549 or email jonesbl@parliament.uk

Specific Committee Information: welshcom@parliament.uk  tel: 020 7219 6189

Committee Website: www.parliament.uk/parliamentary/welshcom

Committee Membership is as follows: Dr Hywel Francis MP (Chairman), David T. C. Davies MP, Nia Griffith MP, Mrs Siân C. James MP, Mr David Jones MP, Mr Martyn Jones MP, Rt Hon Alun Michael MP, Albert Owen MP, Mr Mark Pritchard MP, Mr Hywel Williams MP, Mark Williams MP

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:  www.parliamentlive.tv 

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474).  Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on www.parliament.uk