Treasury Committee press notice no. 56

Session 2005-06, 25 July 2006

Government responses to the Treasury Committee's Fifth Report of Session 2005-06, The design of a National Pension Savings Scheme, and the Committee's Seventh Report of Session 2005-06, European Financial Services Regulation

The Treasury Committee has received Government responses to its Reports on The design of a National Pension Savings Scheme and European Financial Services Regulation. The Committee expects to publish these responses as Special Reports in the Autumn. In the meantime, the Chairman has requested that they are placed on the HM Treasury website. To view the responses, pending the publication of the Special Reports, please see the links below:

The design of a National Pension Savings Scheme

European Financial Services Regulation


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr Michael Fallon (Sub-Committee Chairman), Mr David Gauke, Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Kerry McCarthy, Mr George Mudie, Mr Brooks Newmark, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.

2. Press Notice No. 56

Further information:

Media Enquiries: (this week only) Jessica Bridges Palmer, Tel 020 7219 0724 / 07917 488447, email €”; (other weeks: Luke Robinson, Tel 020 7219 8895 / 07834312705, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5769, email €”

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on