Treasury Committee press notice no. 7

Session 2005-06 9 November 2005

The administration of tax credits: call for evidence on new inquiry

As announced on 26 October 2005, the Treasury Sub-Committee has agreed to undertake an inquiry into the administration of tax credits. The formal terms of reference for the inquiry are as follows:

To examine the handling of  the payment of child and working tax credits in the United Kingdom by Her Majesty's Revenue and Customs (HMRC). In particular, to:

•examine HMRC's implementation of the six measures for improving the tax credits systems which the Paymaster-General identified in her written statement to the House on 26 May 2005

•examine HMRC's recovery of overpayments of tax credits, and

•seek to identify future solutions to the difficulties encountered in administering the payments system.

The Sub-Committee specifically requests that those submitting written evidence  address future solutions in their evidence, rather than simply 'raking over' past administrative decisions and practices.

The Sub-Committee invites all interested parties to address these terms of reference in writing. The deadline for submissions is Thursday 8 December. More information about the required format of submissions is given overleaf.


Submissions should be in Word or rich text format and sent by e-mail to The body of the e-mail must include a contact name, telephone number and postal address. The e-mail should also make clear who the submission is from.

Submissions should be as brief as possible, and certainly no more than 2,000 words. Paragraphs should be numbered for ease of reference, and the document must include an executive summary, ideally no more than one page long.

Committees make public much of the evidence they receive during inquiries. If you do not wish your submission to be published, you must clearly say so. If you wish to include private or confidential information in your submission to the Sub-Committee, please contact the Clerk of the Sub-Committee to discuss this. Please bear in mind that Committees are not able to investigate individual cases.

Personal information, such as address and contact details, should be provided separately from the body of your submission. You should be aware that there may be circumstances in which the House of Commons will be required to communicate information to third parties on request, in order to comply with its obligations under the Freedom of Information Act 2000.

Submissions should be original work, not previously published or circulated elsewhere. Once submitted, no public use should be made of the submission unless you have first obtained permission from the Clerk of the Committee.

The Treasury Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons, appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, HM Revenue and Customs and associated public bodies. All Members of the Committee are Members of the Sub-Committee.

Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), L, West Dunbartonshire
Lorely Burt, Lib Dem, Solihull
Jim Cousins, L, Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Angela Eagle, L, Wallasey
Mr Michael Fallon, C, Sevenoaks (Sub-Committee Chairman)
Damian Green, C, Ashford
Ms Sally Keeble, L, Northampton North
Susan Kramer, Lib Dem, Richmond Park
Mr Andrew Love, L, Edmonton
Kerry McCarthy, L, Bristol East
Mr George Mudie, L, Leeds East
Mr David Ruffley, C, Bury St Edmunds
Mr Mark Todd, L, South Derbyshire
Peter Viggers, C, Gosport