Treasury Committee Press Notice No. 51

Session 2003-04 27 October 2004

Forthcoming Meetings of the Treasury Committee: Regional Productivity

The Treasury Committee began an inquiry earlier this year looking at issues relating to regional productivity and examining progress by Government in achieving its target of reducing the persistent gap in growth rates between the different English regions. The following further meetings, at which oral evidence will be taken from the witnesses indicated, have now been arranged:-

Tuesday 9 November

 at 9.30 am:

Mr John Mackie (Chief Executive, British Venture Capital Association)

at approx. 10.30am;

Mr Mark Fuller and Mr Neil Kemsley (Merseyside Special Investment Fund) and MR Peter Claydon and Mr Peter Garnham (Yorkshire Fund Manager Group Ltd)

Tuesday 16 November

 at 9.30am:

 Mr John Cheffins (Chief Operating Officer, Rolls-Royce plc);Dr John Patterson (Executive Vice-President, Product and Licensing and Business Development, AstraZeneca plc); & Mr Alistair Baker, (Managing Director) and Ms Natalie Ayres, (Group Director, Small, Medium Enterprises & Partners Group) (Microsoft Ltd)

These meetings will be preceded by a private deliberative meeting of the Committee to which the press and public will not be admitted. Meetings may be subject to last minute changes to or addition of witnesses.

The meetings will be held in a Committee Room of the House of Commons or Portcullis House.  Those wishing to attend the meetings should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.

Note: The terms of reference for this inquiry were announced in a Press Notice of 8 December 2003 (available on the Committee website). Previous evidence sessions were held on 3 February (Government officials), 18 May (academic experts), 6 July (Regional Development Agencies), and 14 September (on university-business links). Transcripts of these sessions are available via the Committee website.

The Treasury Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons, appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, the Inland Revenue, Customs and Excise and associated public bodies. All Members of the Committee are Members of the Sub-committee.

Mr John McFall (Chairman), L, Dumbarton
Mr Nigel Beard, L, Bexleyheath and Crayford
Mr Jim Cousins, L, Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Angela Eagle, L, Wallasey
Mr Michael Fallon, C, Sevenoaks, (Sub-committee Chairman)
Rt Hon David Heathcoat-Amory, C, Wells
Norman Lamb, Lib Dem, North Norfolk
John Mann, L, Bassetlaw
Mr George Mudie, L, Leeds East
Mr James Plaskitt, L, Warwick and Leamington
Mr Robert Walter, C, North Dorset