Treasury Committee Press Notice No. 9

Session 2004-05 27 January 2005

Credit Card Charges and Marketing:

The Treasury Committee will publish its Second Report, Credit card charges and marketing (HC 274) on Friday 4 February at 00.01 hours.  Embargoed copies of the Report will be available to witnesses, government departments and accredited members of the press from 11 am until noon on Thursday 3 February at the Reception Desk at 7 Millbank, London SW1P 3JA.  Copies will also be available in the Press Gallery, House of Commons from 11 am.

The Chairman of the Committee, Rt Hon John McFall MP, will be available for interview from 2 pm on Thursday 3 February. Journalists can contact his office on 020 7219 3521 or his mobile phone 0773 0987802.

Reports can be purchased from the Stationery Office Bookshops (tel: 0870 600 5522). The full text will also be available on the Internet ( at or before 3.30 pm on the day of publication.

Further Information

Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson, Select Committee Media Officer (Tel: +44 (0)20 7219 8895, Mobile: +44 (0)7834312705, email:

Select Committee Calendar: Watch Committees Online:  Main Website

Specific Committee Information: Fiona Channon, Tel 020 7219 5769,

Committee Website:

Publications / Reports / Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills, research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on

The Treasury Committee is a Select Committee of the House of Commons, appointed to examine the expenditure, administration and policy of the Treasury, the Inland Revenue, Customs and Excise and associated public bodies. All Members of the Committee are Members of the Sub-committee.

Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), L, Dumbarton
Mr Nigel Beard, L, Bexleyheath and Crayford
Mr Jim Cousins, L, Newcastle upon Tyne Central
Angela Eagle, L, Wallasey
Mr Michael Fallon, C, Sevenoaks, (Sub-committee Chairman)
Rt Hon David Heathcoat-Amory, C, Wells
Norman Lamb, Lib Dem, North Norfolk
John Mann, L,  Bassetlaw
Mr George Mudie, L, Leeds East
Mr James Plaskitt, L, Warwick and Leamington
Mr Robert Walter, C, North Dorset