Treasury Committee

Session 2002-03 No. 13                                          23 January 2003


The Treasury Committee has decided to hold the following public evidence sessions on the UK and the Euro:

Tuesday 28 January 9.30am Mr Martin Weale, National Institute of Economic and Social Research, Mr Geoffrey Dicks, Royal Bank of Scotland, Mr Roger Bootle, Capital Economics, and Professor David Begg, Birkbeck College, University of London

Thursday 30 January 9.30am The Institute of Directors;  Mr Alan Wood, Chief Executive, Siemens UK, and Mr Paul Barron, President, Alstom

Further evidence sessions will be announced shortly.

The Committee would welcome the submission of written evidence, which may include material not written specifically for the Committee.  Early submission is strongly encouraged and would give the Committee greater scope for considering the issues raised.

Please submit evidence by post to: Clerk of the Committee, Treasury Committee, 7 Millbank, London, SW1P 3JA; by fax to 020 7219 2782; or, preferably, e-mail to

The meetings described above will be preceded by private deliberative meetings of the Committee to which the press and public will not be admitted.  The meetings will be held in a Committee Room in the House of Commons or in Portcullis House.    Those wishing to attend meetings should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.