Treasury Committee Press Notice No. 32

Session 2005-06, 19 April 2006

Globalisation: the role of the IMF
Concluding hearings

The Treasury Committee will hold two further evidence sessions in connection with its inquiry into Globalisation: the role of the IMF as follows:

Thursday 27 April 2006:

At 9.45 am: Mr Mervyn King, Governor, Ms Rachel Lomax, Deputy Governor, and Mr Chris Salmon, Head of International Finance Division, Bank of England

Thursday 11 May 2006:

At 11.45 am: Rt Hon Gordon Brown MP, Chancellor of the Exchequer, and HM Treasury officials

These meetings will be held in a Committee Room in the Palace of Westminster or Portcullis House. Those wishing to attend the meetings should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


The Treasury Committee announced its inquiry, including the terms of reference, into Globalisation: the role of the IMF on 13 December 2005.

On 31 January, the Committee heard evidence on this inquiry from Professor Marcus Miller, University of Warwick, David Woodward, New Economics Foundation, Professor Richard Portes, London Business School, and representatives from Action Aid, Christian Aid and World Vision. An uncorrected transcript of this session is available at .

The Governor of the Bank of England gave a speech, entitled 'Reform of the International Monetary Fund', to the Indian Council for Research on International Economic Relations (ICRIER) in New Delhi, India on 20 February 2006. This is available at:

See also HM Treasury's most recent annual report on its dealings with the IMF The UK and the IMF 2005: Meeting the challenges of globalisation for all


1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Lorely Burt, Mr Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr Michael Fallon (Chairman, Sub-Committee), Mr David Gauke, Ms Sally Keeble, Susan Kramer, Mr Andrew Love, Kerry McCarthy, Mr George Mudie, Nr Brooks Newmark, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.

2. Press Notice No. 32

Further information:

Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson, Tel 020 7219 8895 / 07834312705, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5769, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on