Treasury Committee press notice no. 40

Session 2005-06, 18 May 2006

Financial Inclusion: final evidence session

Change of time and Ministerial witnesses

The time and witnesses for the Treasury Committee's final evidence session as part of its inquiry into financial inclusion have changed following recent Ministerial changes. The meeting, on Monday 22 May, will now begin at the later time of 5.00 pm with witnesses as listed below:

Monday 22 May 2006:

At 5.00 pm: James Plaskitt MP, Parliamentary Undersecretary, Department for Work and Pensions

At 5.30 pm: Rt Hon Ian McCartney MP, Minister of State for Trade, Investment and Foreign Affairs, Department of Trade and Industry

At 6.00 pm: Ed Balls MP, Economic Secretary to the Treasury, HM Treasury

The Committee will hear from Government ministers in the Treasury, DTI and the DWP on the actions the government is taking to promote financial inclusion and the administration of the £120 million financial inclusion fund. In particular, the Committee will examine how the government will encourage the provision of affordable credit and the development of credit unions, CDFIs and other third sector lenders. The Committee will also examine the government's proposed scheme to allow lenders to apply to deduct debt repayments directly from benefits.

This meeting will be held in the House of Commons. Those wishing to attend the meetings should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


1. The Committee announced a major inquiry into Financial Inclusion on 15 November 2005. This is the concluding session. Previous oral evidence has focused on access to banking services and affordable credit; the role of the Government, the Financial Services Authority and other bodies and organisations in promoting financial inclusion and the benefits of financial inclusion; and the extent to which financial inclusion measures can contribute to combating poverty and reducing barriers to employment.

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr Michael Fallon (Chairman, Sub-Committee), Mr David Gauke, Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Kerry McCarthy, Mr George Mudie, Mr Brooks Newmark, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.

3. Press Notice No. 40

Further information:

Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson, Tel 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488 549, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5769, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on