Treasury Committee press notice no.63

Session 2006-07, 7 July 2007

Treasury Committee to hold first “new style” pre-confirmation hearing

The Treasury Committee is announcing that it will hold the first “new style” pre-confirmation hearing by a select committee of the House of Commons following the constitutional reform proposals outlined by the Prime Minister earlier this month.

In the Green Paper on The Governance of Britain, the Government proposed that there should be a vote in the House of Commons to confirm the appointment of its nominee for the post of Chair of the new Statistics Board.

Earlier today, the Treasury announced that the Government’s nominee as Chair of the Statistics Board was Sir Michael Scholar. In light of the importance of the post and in order to enhance the understanding within the House of Commons and among the public regarding the appointment process and the suitability of the nominee, the Treasury Committee has decided to take evidence from Sir Michael Scholar prior to the vote in the House of Commons.

The hearing will take place on Wednesday 18 July at 4 p.m. in the Wilson Room, Portcullis House, House of Commons.

The Committee has taken a close interest in the integrity of official statistics and has an established track record of taking evidence and producing reports on appointments and re-appointments to the Monetary Policy Committee of the Bank of England.

A short report is expected to follow with the Committee’s conclusions from the evidence session with Sir Michael in order to assist the House of Commons in reaching a decision on the Government motion.

1. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Mr Graham Brady, Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr Philip Dunne, Mr Michael Fallon (Sub-Committee Chairman), Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Mr George Mudie, Mr Siôn Simon, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.
2. The Treasury Committee’s report on Independence for Statistics which was published on 26 July 2006.