Treasury Committee press notice no.19

16 January 2008: For Immediate Release

Treasury Sub-Committee announces evidence sessions

The Treasury Sub-Committee will be holding further evidence sessions on its inquiry into Counting the population as follows:

Wednesday 23 January
2.30 pm
Charlie Bean, Chief Economist, and Neal Hatch, Head of the Structural Economic Analysis Division within Monetary Analysis, Bank of England, and HM Treasury officials
3.30 pm
Local Government Association, Slough Borough Council, Islington Council, Manchester City Council and Newham Primary Care Trust, NHS.

Monday 28 January
4.15 pm
Karen Dunnell, National Statistician and Registrar General for England and Wales 
Jil Matheson, Director Census Demography and Regional Statistics Office, Office for National Statistics
5.00 pm
Sir Michael Scholar, Chair, the Statistics Board

Wednesday 6 February
2.30 pm
Angela Eagle MP, Exchequer Secretary, HM Treasury

The Committee published the written evidence to this inquiry on Tuesday 15 January 2008 as House of Commons Paper No. 183–II.

Those wishing to attend the meeting should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.

Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Nick Ainger, Mr Graham Brady, Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Mr Philip Dunne, Mr Michael Fallon (Sub-Committee Chairman), Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Mr George Mudie, Mr Siôn Simon, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.