Treasury Committee press notice no. 37

Session 2005-06, 11 May 2006

Office of Government Commerce: Annual Report Scrutiny
Evidence Session Announced

As part of its ongoing scrutiny of departmental reports the Treasury Sub-Committee will take evidence from the Office of Government Commerce as follows:

Wednesday 17 May 2006

2.30 pm public: Mr John Oughton, Chief Executive, Mr Peter Fanning, Deputy Chief Executive, Mr Hugh Barrett, Chief Executive, OGC Buying Solutions, Mr Martin Sykes, Executive Director and Mr David Rossington, Executive Director, Office of Government Commerce

This meeting will be held in the Grimond Room, Portcullis House. Those wishing to attend the meeting should check the venue by contacting the House of Commons Public Information Office on 020 7219 4272 on the day before the hearing.


1. The OGC is an independent office of the Treasury and works with public sector organisations to help them improve their efficiency, gain better value for money from their commercial activities and deliver improved success from programmes and projects, website: This session will focus on OGC's annual report which is a chapter in the Treasury's Departmental Report, published Thursday 11 May 2006, website:

2. Committee Membership is as follows: Rt Hon John McFall (Chairman), Mr Colin Breed, Jim Cousins, Angela Eagle, Mr Michael Fallon (Chairman, Sub-Committee), Mr David Gauke, Ms Sally Keeble, Mr Andrew Love, Kerry McCarthy, Mr George Mudie, Mr Brooks Newmark, John Thurso, Mr Mark Todd, Peter Viggers.

3. Press Notice No. 37

Further information:

Media Enquiries: Luke Robinson, Tel 020 7219 5693 / 07917 488 549, email -

Specific Committee Information: Tel 020 7219 5769, email -

Committee Website:

Watch committees and parliamentary debates online:

Publications/Reports/Reference Material: Copies of all select committee reports are available from the Parliamentary Bookshop (12 Bridge St, Westminster, 020 7219 3890) or the Stationery Office (0845 7023474). Committee reports, press releases, evidence transcripts, Bills; research papers, a directory of MPs, plus Hansard (from 8am daily) and much more, can be found on